top of page

I Hate Myselfie by Shane Dawson

The book I Hate Myselfie was written by famous YouTuber, Shane Dawson. Dawson has been on YouTube since 2008. He is known for his comedy sketches and his charismatic personality online.

This book is a collection of essays written by Dawson and published in 2015, documenting his life experiences. In these essays Dawson invites us into his world using dark humor and entertaining storytelling. Readers learn about Dawson’s life before his fame as a YouTube star, and even some of his experiences after his channel took off.

I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this book. I listened to it on audible, which I hardly ever do, but I was excited to hear Shane read the stories himself. I’m glad I did because I was laughing all the way through, even during the dark parts, which Dawson sprinkled some comedy into. Just like his YouTube skits, Dawson knows how to keep his audience entertained.

Despite the comedy incorporated into the darker parts, I still found myself feeling a certain sadness for Dawson. While he appreciates the opportunities he has been given, it seems to me that he still feels like the outcast that doesn’t belong in the spotlight, which is understandable given his history. I think on some level, those of us who have or do feel like outcasts will always feel that way. A sense of belonging is something we’ll always strive for, but only achieve in bursts of happiness.

I Hate Myselfie is the perfect balance of comedy and seriousness. I thoroughly enjoyed Shane’s voice acting and passion that went into this. There are extremely sensitive details of his life shared in this book, details that most people would take to the grave, so I thought it was brave of him to share these experiences. I’m a writer, and even I don’t think I could find the courage to do this.

Overall, I give this book 5 out of 5. It’s definitely more for a younger crowd, teens and young adults. I personally enjoyed it because I’m around Dawson’s age, so I think people our age and a bit younger could relate to this book. You also have to be pretty open-minded to enjoy Dawson’s content, so keep that in mind if you decide to check out his work, books or otherwise.

Shane Dawson's YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/shane

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page