top of page

Waiter to the Rich and Shameless by Paul Hartford


I received Waiter to the Rich and Shameless: Confessions of a Five – Star Beverly Server from Booktasters Non-Fiction. This book is an autobiography by Paul Hartford. It was published in 2015. Hartford has over 20 years’ experience in the high – profile service industry.

Waiter to the Rich and Shameless is much more than the general experiences of a top – tier waiter, which is what I expected going into the book. You can expect some interesting stories about the high profile customers of the Cricket Room, but to accompany those stories are even more stories that center around growing and learning within the industry. We learn about Hartford’s experiences as a bartender before he decided to become a waiter, which gives readers a feel for not only Hartford’s personal experiences, but also for how the industry actually works. I personally found this aspect of the book interesting.

While I enjoyed Hartford’s stories concerning celebrities and the food industry, I felt that some of the information he provided was redundant, nor did I care to read about his drug use or sexcapades. That is not to say I was offended in anyway by those stories; I just didn’t think they blended well with the overall direction of the book.

That aside, Hartford’s experiences are interesting, and he writes well. He has a way with descriptions and pulling you into the story. I actually found myself wondering if Hartford ever considered writing fiction since he’s such a descriptive writer. There’s a difference between bad writing and a bad story. Some of Hartford’s story was in bad taste, but he’s far from a bad writer.

I would recommend Waiter to the Rich and Shameless to those who enjoy celebrity gossip or stories concerning the food industry. There is something to be learned from Hartford’s autobiography, whether you already work within the industry, or you’re looking to see how it all works.

Booktasters Non-Fiction Twitter: @TasteNonfiction

Paul Hartford Twitter: @Pauli9641

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page